Visa-free Foreign Nationals

To facilitate international travel, many countries have implemented a mutual visa exemption policy. The following foreign nationals are granted visa-free entry to mainland China:

1. Holders of passports issued by countries with mutual visa exemption agreements with China. The list of countries with mutual visa exemption agreements with China is accessible on relevant websites of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of China.

2. International passengers in immediate transit through China on international connecting flights are exempted from transit visas if they stay in the transit city for no more than twenty-four hours and do not leave the airport; if they need to leave the airport, they are required to obtain a stay permit issued by the border inspection station. China's 144-hour visa-free transit policy, which is applicable for citizens of 53 foreign countries, has taken effect at Wuhan Tianhe International Airport as of January 1, 2019.

3. Foreign crew members of vessels and their accompanying family members on international voyages who wish to come ashore during the vessel's call at a Chinese port, provided that they will not travel beyond the port city and apply for a landing permit from the border inspection station; those who wish to stay ashore overnight shall obtain an overnight stay permit (this rule is not applicable to those planning to travel beyond the city and those who are unable to exit onboard their original vessels).

4. Citizens of Russia, Byelorussia, Turkmenistan and Moldova who visit China in tourist groups are exempted from visas.

5. Citizens of Japan, Singapore and Brunei holding regular passports may be granted a visa-free stay in China for up to 15 days.