Foreign Relations

Since Wuhan was approved as an opening-up city along the Yangtze River in 1992, it has gradually become a popular foreign investment destination. As of the end of 2020, Wuhan accommodates 305 Fortune Global 500 enterprises, while France, the United States, South Korea and the UK set up consulates general in Wuhan in 1998, 2008, 2011 and 2015 respectively. Wuhan enjoys ever-closer exchanges with the rest of the world in economy, trade, science and technology, education, culture and other fields, as well as dynamic and friendly ties with foreign governments, non-governmental agencies and social organizations. As of the end of June 2021, Wuhan has established sister-city relationship with 28 foreign cities, Oita in Japan, Pittsburgh in the United States, Duisburg in Germany, Manchester in the United Kingdom, Galati in Romania, Kiev in Ukraine, Khartoum in Sudan, Gyor in Hungary, Bordeaux in France, Arnhem in Netherlands, Cheong Ju in South Korea, Sankt Polten in Austria, Christchurch in New Zealand, Markham in Canada, Borlange in Sweden, Kopavogur in Iceland, Ashdod in Israel, Essonne in France, Izmir in Turkey, Tijuana in Mexico, Saratov in Russia, Concepcion in Chile, Bishkek in Kyrgyzstan, Chalcis in Greece, Izhevsk in Russia, Swansea in the United Kingdom, Entebbe in Uganda, and Bangkok in Thailand.